Forgotten Words

You may have forgotten every time you called me whore or slut. You may have forgotten every deeming remark. You may have forgotten, but I never will be able to. I try to get better, try to forget just like you have, but those words are burned into my head. Late at night I sit in my bed, and think about all of the names I have been called. I used to tell myself that I was better than that, but now I feel like I deserve it. Some nights I just wish it was over, wish every bad thought had never crossed my mind, but that’s not the life I live. I’m stuck here.

Leave a Reply

