Three Seconds

How long have we been staring at each other? Do you think anyone else has caught on? I want to say something, but someone else is talking. Are they talking to me? Am I blushing? Damn it. I didn’t want to look away. Why couldn’t I say anything? I looked down embarrassed by my lack of speech. Were you still looking at me? I wanted to look up to see, but you had already passed by. I cursed. The three seconds that felt like an eternity were gone. Why did I get so tongue tied around you? You’re just a friend. Just a friend.

Leave a Reply

